Tuesday, July 16

England Cricketer of the Year Bairstow

Online Desk :

Jonny Bairstow won the Bob Willis Trophy as England’s cricketer of the year as voted by the Cricket Writers Club. He got this trophy for his outstanding performance in Test cricket last year. The Bob Willis Trophy was held in place of the County Championship during the Covid pandemic. The trophy, named after former England fast bowler Bob Willis, will henceforth be awarded as the Cricket Writers Club’s England Cricketer of the Year (Male or Female) award. Bairstow scored six centuries in Tests during the period considered for the award (October 2021 to September 2022). Before the third Test against South Africa last month, he slipped and injured his lower left leg while playing golf. Surgery is required later. The 33-year-old batsman was knocked out of the T20 World Cup due to that injury. On the other hand, Jordan Cox was selected as the Young Cricketer of the Year. He had a great season for Kent and Oval Invincibles in all editions. England women’s all-rounder Nat Seaver won the Women’s Cricket Award. The winners were announced on Tuesday (October 4).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *